We work with artisan families that come from the Chiapas region (south of Mexico). Most of the time these are women who join together and work on their products from home, in addition to housework and childcare. Often the whole family is involved, whether buying materials (cotton threads, for example) or selling the products at the market.

Our artisans come from the following regions:

  • San Christobal de las Casas
  • San Juan Chamula
  • San Andres de Larrainzar
  • Nahig
  • Zinacantan

Each of the typically colorful Mexican products are made by hand, without using machines. The fabric art varies from community to community, using different embroidery shapes, colours and weaving patterns. The wonderful fabrics with floral embroidery, geometric shapes or animal patterns reflect the nature and traditions from the indigenous people of Mexico.

From generation to generation, the techniques are carefully preserved and passed on. Sitting on the floor, cotton threads, often dyed with natural dyes, are woven row by row using a hip loom. It often takes 2-3 days to create a blouse or a dress. In the case of elaborate embroidery, the production time of a table runner, for example, can take up to several weeks.

Our goal is to maintain this unique textile art of the Mayan culture in Mexico by working with the artisan families. By considering fair trade conditions, cutting out intermedaries, we strive for a better quality of life and more justice for the women in these communities.

Our shoes and boots come from smaller artisan factories in Leon, Mexico. Even there, many steps of production are still done by hand, in the traditional way. The textiles used in the process come from Chiapas. Each piece is unique, because of the embroidery and color selection of the fabric.

Enjoy these colourful treasures made with love by our artisan families.

Wir arbeiten mit Kunsthandwerker-Familien zusammen, die aus der Region Chiapas (Süden von Mexiko) stammen. Meistens handelt es sich dabei um Frauen, die sich zusammenschließen und von zu Hause aus an ihren Produkten arbeiten, neben Hausarbeit und Kinderbetreuung. Oftmals wird die ganze Familie involviert, sei es beim Kauf von Material (Baumwollfäden z.B.) oder beim Verkauf von den Produkten auf dem Markt. 

Unsere Kunsthandwerker stammen aus folgenden Regionen: 

  • San Christobal de las Casas
  • San Juan Chamula
  • San Andres de Larrainzar
  • Nahig
  • Zinacantan

Jedes der typisch farbenfrohen mexikanischen Produkte wurden in Handarbeit hergestellt, ohne Einsatz von Maschinen. Die Textilkunst ist je nach Gemeinde unterschiedlich, es werden andere Stickformen, Farben und Webmuster verwendet. Die wunderbaren Stoffe mit Blumenstickerei, geometrischen Formen oder Tiermotiven spiegeln die Natur und die Traditionen von den Ureinwohnern von Mexiko wieder.

Von Generation zu Generation werden die Techniken sorgfältig aufbewahrt und weitergegeben. Auf dem Boden sitzend werden mit Hilfe von einem Hüftwebgerät die oft mit natürlichen Mitteln gefärbten Baumwollfäden Reihe für Reihe gewoben. Oft sind es 2-3 Tage bis eine Bluse oder Kleid entsteht. Bei aufwendiger Stickerei kann die Herstellungszeit von einem Tischläufer z.B. bis zu mehreren Wochen dauern. 

Unser Ziel ist es, durch die Zusammenarbeit mit den Handwerkerfamilien diese einzigartige Textilkunst der Maya-Kultur in Mexiko aufrechtzuerhalten. Durch die Berücksichtigung von fairen Handelsbedingungen, Ausschalten von Zwischenhändlern streben wir eine bessere Lebensqualität und mehr Gerechtigkeit für die Frauen in diesen Gemeinden an. 

Unsere Schuhe und Stiefel stammen von kleineren Handwerksbetrieben aus Leon. Auch dort werden noch viele Schritte der Produktion per Hand erledigt, auf traditionelle Art und Weise. Die dabei verwendete Textilien stammen aus Chiapas. Jedes Stück ist einzigartig, alleine wegen der Stickerei und Farbauswahl des Stoffes.